Everything You Need to Know About Eurovision 2022

eurovision song contest 2022

The 66th Annual Eurovision Song Contest is officially underway and, as always, it’s set to be the most fabulous event of the year.

There’s nothing quite like Eurovision. Organised by the European Broadcasting Union, Eurovision features contestants primarily from countries all over Europe, along with some countries outside European borders (like, weirdly, Australia).

Held annually since 1956 — with the exception of 2020, which was cancelled due to COVID — the Eurovision Song Contest is the longest-running annual international televised music competition in the world, and fans love it.

Known for its glitzy costumes, kitschy performances and for introducing the world to ABBA, the competition has gained international notoriety over the years, and even has its own movieEurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga.

Here’s everything you need to know about what’s in store this year.

When Is Eurovision 2022?

The 2022 Eurovision Song Contest will run from May 11, 2022 to May 15, 2022.

Who Is Representing Australia in the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest?

Representing Australia for the 66th Eurovision Song Contest this year is Sheldon Riley, with the song “Not the Same”.

Who Are Australia’s 2022 Eurovision Jury Members?

Australia’s official Eurovision Jury members this year include Dylan Lewis, Montaigne, Matt Okine, Bridget Hustwaite, and Milly Petriella.

Who Is Australia’s 2022 Eurovision Spokesperson?

Australia’s official spokesperson for Eurovision 2022 is none other than drag icon Courtney Act, who will deliver the scores on behalf of the nation.

“I tried the Eurovision front door on Eurovision – Australia Decides 2019 to no avail, so now it’s the Eurovision side door to be the Aussie score announcer on the big night!” Act said in a statement. “I’m so excited to cheer on Sheldon, look fab, and enjoy a magnificent night of camp and music.”

Where is Eurovision 2022 Being Held?

The 66th Eurovision Song Contest is being held in Turin, Italy, after Måneskin’s victory in Rotterdam last year.

Where Can I Watch Eurovision 2022?

You can watch the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest on SBS, and SBS On Demand.

What Time is Eurovision 2022 On In Australia?

SBS screens the Eurovision Song Contest both live and at primetime, for those of us who don’t want to be up at the crack of dawn. Here’s what times they’re on

Semi Final 2

LIVE: 5am AEST on Friday, May 13, 2022

Primetime: 8.30pm on Saturday 14 May, 8

Grand Final

LIVE:  5am AEST on Sunday, 15 May, 2022

Primetime: 7.30pm on Sunday 15 May, 2022

How to Vote In Eurovision 2022

The Eurovision rules state that viewers in countries of participating broadcasters — like Australia — can vote in both the Eurovision Semi-Finals, as well as the Grand Final. Viewer votes make up 50% of the total vote, with the other half being decided by the National Jury of each participating country.

For Australia, this means that half our votes come from us, the viewers, and the other half come from our Jury Members, Dylan Lewis, Montaigne, Matt Okine, Bridget Hustwaite, and Milly Petriella.

The Eurovision rules state that we can only vote in the Semi-Final that Australia is a part of. This means we get to vote in Semi-Final 2 on Friday, May 13.

This year, there won’t be any SMS or televoting. Rather, all of Australia’s votes will be received by an online voting portal, which you can access here.

As with the SMS voting, each person can vote up to 20 times, and each vote costs 55c. Across your 20 votes, you can vote for as many acts as you want, or put all your votes on one act. The only catch is, we can’t vote for our own country, so putting votes on Sheldon Riley is off-limits.

Read more stories from The Latch and subscribe to our email newsletter.