Australia and New Zealand Are Limbering Up for the FIFA Women’s World Cup

An image of an official match ball on the unity pitch in Brisbane to illustrate the 2023 fifa womens world cup.

The playoffs have concluded, the tournament has been set, and we are weeks away from the ninth Federation International Football Association’s Women’s World Cup. If that’s not enough to get your engines revving, Australia, along with our neighbour across the Tasman, will play host to the sporting action.

Unlike the men’s World Cup, Australia actually has a fighting chance in this one with the Matilda’s, captained by the mighty Sam Kerr, hoping to intercept the third consecutive victory of the US.

The 2023 edition features an expanded line-up to match the men’s round, with 32 national teams vying for the title, up from the 24 we normally see.

That this is a historic sporting event, even before the first whistle, goes without saying. This will be the first Women’s World Cup in the Southern Hemisphere, the first World Cup to be played across multiple confederations, and the most valuable women’s sporting event in the world, with the rights valued at $454 million.

Here’s what you need to know about the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 in the lead-up to the action.

When is the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023?

All the action starts on Thursday, 20 July with the kick-off of the group stages. New Zeland will face their first test in the opening match against Norway while Australia has drawn Ireland for their opening game on the same date.

Minister for Sport Anika Wells speaks during the FIFA Women's World Cup 100 Days To Go launch event at Sydney Football Stadium
Image: Minister for Sport Anika Wells speaks during the FIFA Women’s World Cup 100 Days To Go launch event at Sydney Football Stadium / Getty

The group stages will run until 3 August and the round of 16 knockout stage will commence on 5 August.

The Ausrter finals will be played on 11 and 12 August while the semis will take place across 15 and 16 August.

The grand final will be played on 20 August when the competition comes to a head and a close.

Where Will the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Be Played?

With joint hosting duties across Australia and New Zealand, both countries have stadiums that will be used for matches during the tournament.

It’s not quite an even split, with six stadiums in Australia across Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, and Adelaide, and four in New Zealand across Hamilton, Wellington, Auckland, and Dunedin.

The match shedule for the 2023 FIFA womens' world cup.
Image: FIFA

The final match will be played at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

Who Has Qualified for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023?

With 32 national teams having qualified for the tournament, there are eight groups of four battling it out in the group stages which are as follows:

Group A

New Zealand




Group B


Republic of Ireland



Group C


Costa Rica



Group D




China PR

Group E





Group F





Group G


South Africa



Group H




Korea Republic

Experts have tipped England to win the tournament this year as the 2015 and 2019 winners, USA, had a poor showing at the end of last year. Germany, France, Australia, and Spain are all expected to do very well while Olympic champions Canada have ground to make up if they are to prove themselves again.

It’s going to be a thrilling tournament and we’ll be bringing you more details as the games draw closer.

Related: Not Just a Game: How the FIFA World Cup Is Influencing Global Politics

Related: Football’s Coming Out: How the FIFA World Cup Could Impact LGBTQI+ Rights in Qatar

Read more stories from The Latch and subscribe to our email newsletter.