Opera Australia Announces the Cast for Sydney Harbour’s ‘The Phantom of the Opera’

After much anticipation, Opera Australia have finally announced the cast of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s The Phantom of the Opera, which will take place in Sydney Harbour.

Considered to be one of the most successful musicals of all time, the performers who will be leading the show are Melbourne-born Joshua Robson as The Phantom, Brisbane actress Georgina Hopson as Christine and acclaimed West End and Broadway musical theatre performer Callum Francis as Raoul Vicomte de Chagny.

In its 35-year history, this will be the first time The Phantom of the Opera will be performed outdoors. With stunning views of Sydney Harbour, the show will be nothing short of spectacular.

OA’s Artistic Director Lyndon Terracini AM couldn’t be more thrilled with the talented cast, saying: “These young artists are at the top of their game and in-demand, so it’s really terrific that we’ve been able to secure them for this year’s season of Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour.

“Joshua Robson is a great talent, he’s going to really blow away the audiences, and Georgina will be just spellbinding as Christine and with Callum in the role of Raoul, it really is dream casting, we couldn’t be happier.

“They are all phenomenally talented, the chemistry between Joshua and Georgina was just amazing and I think Callum was born to sing Raoul, seriously this is going to be the hottest ticket in town this year,” said Terracini.

Joining the three leads will be Australian performer Maree Johnson as Madame Giry, a role she is currently playing on Broadway. Naomi Johns will be taking on the role of Carlotta, Paul Tabone will be Piangi, veteran musical theatre performer Michael Cormick will play Firmin, Martin Crewes as Andre and Kelsi Boyden as Meg Giry.

Other cast members include Johanna Allen, Sarah Bakker, Ben Clark, Jack Connor-Rowan, Andrew Coshan, Emma Dawson, Sarah Dimas, Pedro Donoso, David Duketis, Jack Evans, Trina Farrelly, Keane Fletcher, Lewis Francis, Allie Graham, Giselle Graham, Caitie Hawkins, Tianna Koolloos, Elisha Zion Lee, Michaela Leisk, Josephine Lonergan, Imogen-Faith Malfitano, Douglas McRae, Sarah Murr, Annabelle Rosewarne, Amelia Sanzo, Megan Schoenmaker, Andy Seymour, Bree Stephens, Maddison Toomey and Georgia Wilkinson.

To secure tickets for The Phantom of the Opera, purchase them here.

Read more stories from The Latch and subscribe to our email newsletter.